Whether Evolved or Created…

Image

As I was sitting on my stoop the other night, staring at the lizards feast on dinner as I do almost every night, I realized the responsibility I hold as a human.  India can wear on you, and it can leave you feeling overwhelmed as a human being.

Almost every night, I sit on my porch and read a book, listen to the sounds of the neighborhood, or enjoy some tunes as I watch the world go by as a way to wind down. Often times, I watch these lizards around my porch light move just a few i times to stick their tongue out and catch a bug.

I thought, this is most of this lizards existence. Hanging out around my light and eating bugs. I mean, I think there is a lot that we don’t know about animals, how they communicate, how they choose partners. I would love to think that while we aren’t looking they are having parties talking about us, but who knows! We are a different kind of intelligent.

No matter your opinion on whether or not we have evolved from primates or were created and set here by a God, one thing for certain is that we as humans have a very special capability to help others, feel others pain, share others joy, and create intelligent solutions to issues that our community (or tribe) faces.

So, maybe you are a single mother working three jobs trying to make ends meet. You might say, I am no scientist, I am trying to survive just like those lizards! So you are a scientist of love. You are a scientist of survival.

We have the ability to learn how to cultivate land in a sustainable way, and have compassion for those who are in a less fortunate situation than our own. Again, you could argue this for several animals who have been filmed and seen on those “cutest” wimp videos helping one another, or a dog rescuing a human from the street… even chimpanzees have created found their own medicine to cure a parasite by swallowing a special leaf folded in a certain way, which eliminates the ailment.

Here is the thing. I am sitting here typing on my computer, allowing my thoughts to flow on to a webpage that has the capability to reach anywhere from zero to millions of people. So here is for the kind souls who read this.

Take whatever gift you have and use it to help your fellow humans. If it is only a smile available that you can give to someone else, lend that smile. If your dream is to become a surgeon be that surgeon. 

Created or evolved, we have a unique opportunity that we have been given in this vessel we call the human body.

We ourselves feel that what we are doing is just a drop in the ocean. But the ocean would be less because of that missing drop.
Mother Teresa 

If you can’t feed a hundred people, then feed just one.
Mother Teresa 

Leave a Reply

